Segal McCambridge To Receive Chicago Legal Clinic's Charles J. O'Laughlin Memorial Award for Pro Bono Service


February 3, 2010

Segal McCambridge has been selected as the 2010 recipient of the Chicago Legal Clinic's Charles J. O'Laughlin Memorial Award. The award is given each year to a Chicago firm or in-house legal department with "an exemplary record of pro bono representation of individuals or groups."

The Chicago Legal Clinic is Chicago's largest provider of pro bono and low cost legal representation. It bestows the award annually in memory of Charles J. O'Laughlin of Jenner & Block, who was a founding board member of the CLC, and whose 48-year legal career was marked by an unstinting commitment to public service.

Past recipients of the award include McDonald's, Exelon, Holland & Knight, Neal Gerber and Lord Bissel. Last year's recipient was Bryan Cave.

The award was formally announced on February 2, 2010, by the Most Rev. Thomas J. Paprocki, the Auxiliary Bishop of Chicago and President of the CLC's Board of Directors. It will be bestowed at the CLC's annual banquet in May.

Also receiving recognition from the CLC are Sister Catherine M. Ryan, Executive Director of Maryville Academy, who will receive the clinic's Cardinal Bernardin Award, and attorney David Marc Dabertin, who will be honored with the James D. Jacobson Award.

For more on the Chicago Legal Clinic, click here.